This post is written by Uncle L, it has been proof read by myself but all thoughts, opinions and information is his own.

So like everyone in our house Uncle L likes to read which means that he can also be involved in the monthly book reviews and I love that he can have a post all of his own every month on our blog. He loves to write and is even writing a book of his online which I will make sure he tells you all about some time!

Over to Uncle L:

Hello, I am Uncle L. I enjoy reading books so I am going share my favourite book with you every month in the post ‘The Teen Reviews The Book’. I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you about the books I read and enjoy.

I have been reading The Hunger Games recently, it is written by Suzanne Collins. The book is about a teen girl called Katniss. She lives in a world where they are divided into districts and the Capital rules everything. The rich are very rich and the poor are very poor. Katniss lives in district 12 and they are very poor. An uprising against the Capital has caused the districts to be made and created something called The Hunger Games. This is where every year as punishment for the uprising every district must give 1 male and 1 female tribute to fight until the death on live TV. The last person standing will win riches and everything they desire.

The book contains a lot of action and adventure as they games take place. In the book there are lots of good bits about friendships, loyalty and family which will play a very big part in the games and how they must learn to survive. I like how the book is set in a time where there has been a war and the poor live like the olden times but the Capital is futuristic. The characters are all picked at random and are forced or volunteer to participate in the games. They are trained by the Capital so they can fight to the death.

The book contains a lot of emotions though the story like sorrow during the games. It makes you love the characters by how they are portrayed in the book. I think the book is much better than the movie because it is only about Katniss’s point of view and her emotions. The movie is very different from the book as it shows the emotions and point of view of many more people.

I would recommend this book for action/adventure lovers, teenagers, people who like books about sorrow and love and for anyone who liked the film.

Come back next month to see what I read next.

You can find The Hunger Games at Amazon by clicking the link. It is also available at Easons, Waterstones and WHSmith. You may find it at some local book shops too.

