20170216_160732.jpg

Week 4

Baby –This week we found out that I am pregnant! It is not yet anything more than a little tiny embryo about the size of a poppy-seed (less than 0.1 inches) and weighs less than 0.04 ounces.  It has just implanted in my uterus.

Me – I did the pregnancy test half way through this week and it came up positive! Simon and I are delighted and really looking forward to having another baby. I have been feeling very nauseous and more so in the morning time or if I bend down. This is what prompted me to take the test.

Week 5

Baby – The baby is now around the size of an apple seed (0.13 inches)  and still weighs less than 0.04 ounces. It is still teeny tiny. It is starting to divide into three layers of cells and is really starting the long process of becoming a fetus.

Me – I still feel really nauseous this week and I have started to notice that many foods don’t taste the same or simply make me feel sick just thinking about them! I am mostly eating very plain foods with very little taste to them. Most of my meals include a majority of pasta, potatoes or toast. I am struggling with bending down to get washing into and out of the washing machine without feel really nauseous.

Week 6

Baby – This week the baby has grown to be about the size of a small pea (0.25 inches) and is still weighing in at less than 0.04 ounces. Now it is growing fast and by the end of this week will be around three times the size! That’s actually pretty amazing. Baby is developing its facial features and the tiny little heart is starting to pump blood. 

Me – Not much has really changed for me in the last week. I still feel nauseous a lot and it is always worse in the mornings. I’ve been trying all types of ginger products but I only find relief in the first bite or two then it seems to enhance it so I have stopped using any ginger products. I also tried eating a dry cracker when it is particularly bad however it seems to have no impact. I’m finding that my appetite is greatly reducing and I don’t really want to eat much. The main advantage for me this week is that I have still yet to be sick! Which to be honest I am delighted about as I have a great fear of throwing up.

On Wednesday I started getting a pain in my left side and by that evening I had noticed a small streak of blood after using the bathroom and ending up going to the local maternity unit for a check after speaking to a midwife. I was refereed to the early pregnancy unit for a scan to ensure that the pain I was experiencing wasn’t a sign of an ectopic pregnancy (when the embryo implants outside of the womb). The scan was on the Friday which is actually the start of week 7.

Six week scan -baby #26 week scan - baby #2

Week 7

Baby – Baby is roughly the size of a blueberry this week (0.51 inches) and still weighs less than 0.04 ounces. This week baby’s brain is growing and developing to become more complex. It is also starting to form little arms, legs, hands and feet.

Me –  At that scan they discovered that I was actually 6 weeks and 5 days along and baby had a heartbeat of 143 beats per minute.(Due to my very irregular periods I could have been anything up to 12 weeks which was actually the last time I had taken a pregnancy test.) The baby is currently just a little blob as you can see from the scan picture above.   The baby was safely inside my womb and the pain on my left side was coming from my ovary which had released the egg. The blood I had seen had simply been implantation bleeding. You can see the scan picture of this week above. The embryo looks like a little aliens face!

This week I have started to become so tired that I need to start taking naps in the middle of the day. I am still feeling nauseous and I have found that after taking a nap I feel almost as bad as I do in the morning.

On Monday I had an emergency appointment with my doctor as I have been having a large amount of pain in my bottom I wasn’t able to sit down anymore. I have a Perennial Sinus infection which is caused by a hair that has grown into a little sinus which is around the area above your bottom. This causes an infection. I was sent to A&E where i was prescribed antibiotics and sent home with instructions to lie down until it goes away or I need to go back. By Wednesday I was in so much pain I would cry when I tried to walk! I no longer have any appetite and can only eat a slice of toast and drink small amounts of water.

Week 8

Baby – Now baby is around the size of a raspberry (0.63 inches) and is now weighing 0.o4 ounces. The baby’s head is larger than the rest of its body and the ears and eyelids are now developing. Baby has also developed arms and leg buds that have wrists and elbows which can flex! From these the baby is starting to develop fingers and toes.The heart rate should now be around 150 beats per minute.

Me – The first day of this pregnancy week I am no longer in as much pain with the perennial sinus infection although I am still taking the maximum daily dosage of paracetamol. By Monday I am not using any pain relief and have finished my course antibiotics. I am not yet starting to feel normal and need to walk at a much slower pace than any of us are used to but by the end of the week I have left the house twice and regained a good bit of my appetite! I have however developed a food aversion to any type of pizza and even having one bite makes me want to instantly throw up.

Week 9

Baby – At this point baby is now the size of a green olive (0.9 inches) which although is still tiny is huge in comparison to the poppy-seed (less than 0.1 inches) we started out with just 5 weeks ago. Baby now weighs around 0.07 ounces. During this week the baby’s embryonic tail will disappear. The eyes are now fully developed! They are now covered by its eyelids. Baby’s hands and feet are starting to look more like little fingers and toes rather than the paddle shape. This week the baby’s reproductive organs are starting to form and it will start becoming a boy or girl but we won’t be able to find out for many more weeks! That is so exciting to think about.

Me – This week we have officially announced the news of the pregnancy to almost all our family and everyone is now really excited! I am still feeling really nauseous and tired all the time. I am struggling to find any motivation to blog or do any of my normal daily things. I am also finding that there simply aren’t enough hours in the day anymore! I think this is mostly down to being so tired though! I have also noticed that the eczema I experienced when pregnant with D is returning.

Week 10

Baby – This week baby is about the size of a prune (1.2 inches) and weighs 0.14 ounces. Baby now has all of the vital organs and they are starting to function. Not only has baby reached that massive milestone but it’s also starting to develop little tiny nails on their finger and toes.

Me –  I am not feel quite as nauseous as I have been the last few weeks however I can’t eat anything that is spicy or has a really strong smell or taste. That means many of my favourite foods are out for the moment! In saying that I now want to eat Walker’s pickled onion crisps at least daily. I am also craving oranges! I would love to eat as many as I can but trying very hard not to have too many.

20161220_161735.jpg

Week 11

Baby – Now baby is more like the size of a lime (1.6 inches) and weighs 0.25 ounces. This baby is no longer considered an embryo and has officially became a fetus! Which is so exciting! This week baby is going grow much more rapidly and by next week it should be twice the size. It’s ears are now starting to move to the side of its head.

Me –  This week I am still feeling a little nauseous and I really hope that the end is in sight. I am finding that I have more energy at the moment and I am not as tired as I have been feeling recently. D has started talking to the baby in my tummy. He mostly just wants to say hello and ask when baby is going to be ready t come! He’s not enjoying the fact it’s still going to be a long time before baby comes.

I got my first ‘bump’ shot this week and although we got some better quality photos I just love this not so great one with D’s expression!

20170216_160906.jpg20170216_160920.jpg

Week 12 

Baby – Baby Is so much bigger this week and is around the size of a plum (2.1 inches) and is now weighing about 0.49 ounces. This week baby’s face is becoming more defined, it’s eyes have moved towards the front. The nose and chin have also started to take shape. The baby’s brain is rapidly growing synapses inside!

Me – The start of this week in the pregnancy we had our 12 week scan and they actually found that I was 12 weeks to the day on the Friday which is what I have used as a guide for all the weeks. D was very excited and loved going to the hospital even though we had to take him into the day care room while we went to my appointment. He loves the scan pictures.  This week we also announced to the world that we are pregnant! It just so happens to also be Christmas eve. If you missed our pregnancy announcement you can read it by clicking on the link. I’m rarely feeling sick now (Yay!) and I feel much more like myself. I have also had a craving to have beetroot with everything and anything. I am trying to just stick to sandwiches, wraps and salads. I did however have a really strange need to try drinking the liquid that beetroot is pickled and preserved in. It was oddly satisfying and tasted rather nice but I will try not to do it again.

Mint green penguin babygro set

This week D and I also went and picked out baby’s first purchase which is actually in 3-6 months as we loved it and Boots didn’t have it in a 0-3 months size. D was delighted and even told anyone near him that he was getting to pick something for the baby in his mummy’s tummy! It was just so cute. He has since been going to have a little look at the penguins any time he feels like it.

It has taken me much longer than I had originally thought it would to get this post out for many various reasons which will mostly be explained in the next bump update. In the next update I will cover weeks 13 through 18 of this pregnancy and that should be up tomorrow on the blog. Be sure to come by and see what has been happening!

